Forum

Notifications
Clear all

How to sort stories by category on profile pages?

Algedi
(@algedi)

I'm not very good with PHP and stuff like that, but I have an archive with eFiction 3.5.1 and I was wondering if I could add something to the dropdown menu on profile pages: now I can sort stories on an author's page just alphabetically or by recent stories, but I need categories in that too. What do I have to do in order to sort stories also by category?
I'm sorry if someone has alreadey asked this question: I searched  but I couldn't find anything helpful 🙁

"Yes, now the rains weep o'er his hall and not a soul to hear" - Hear me Roar

Topic starter Posted : 04/02/2013 7:34 am
Lyndsie
(@lyndsie)
Member Moderator

I don't recall anyone asking this, at least not recently. This would require modifying the PHP files - probably user.php. I've done similar before for browse. However I think it would be slightly more difficult to pull in the categories.

I might think about doing the mod, but right now I'm on the other side of the world from home and I don't have a ton of time. If you think it might be something you can do yourself, browse.php is a good place to look at to get an idea of how it works.

ReplyQuote
Posted : 07/02/2013 8:30 am
Algedi
(@algedi)

Thank you for the answer, Lyndsie!
I'll try with user.php

ReplyQuote
Topic starter Posted : 11/02/2013 3:36 pm
Algedi
(@algedi)

I tried and what I did doesn't work at all 🙁 I found the correct file (storiesby.php) but I can't add a new dropdown menu (or edit the old one) in order to sort stories by category.

ReplyQuote
Topic starter Posted : 15/02/2013 9:58 pm
itanshi
(@itanshi)
Reputable Member

Man, I think I'm as eager as anyone here to see this code work. It just seems easier to rebuld it than to fix it.

Whats your site?

edit:

$sort.= "<option value="viewuser.php?".($action ? "action=".$action : "")."uid=$uid&amp;sort=update">"._MOSTRECENT."</option></select></form>";

replace with