Notifications
Clear all

[Sticky] Ratings  

Page 1 / 3
  RSS
Carissa
(@carissa)
Member Moderator

Even as a board admin, I'm not sure where this should go, but it's kind of news, so this seemed the most appropiate forum.

I just wanted to warn you all that the Motion Picture Association is sending out cease and desist letters to any site it finds that uses their ratings. They own trademark rights to G, PG, PG-13, R, and NC-17, which are the ratings most everyone uses. If you are using them, you may want to consider changing them to something more generic. This is not an internet hoax. I got a letter myself, which you can see a copy of in my LJ.

Posted : 20/03/2005 11:09 pm
fanfictionworld
(@fanfictionworld)
Estimable Member

that is so petty Carissa - shame on them for targeting your site

~Spikey~my site url: http://www.fanfictionworld.orgefic version:3.5.3

ReplyQuote
Posted : 20/03/2005 11:42 pm
Anonymous
 Anonymous
(@Anonymous)

HA! What a bunch of assholes.

ReplyQuote
Posted : 21/03/2005 2:54 am
Anonymous
 Anonymous
(@Anonymous)

i meant to mention this a while back but forgot because of finals and other things, and its not just her site, its a LOT of sites, i changed the ratings on my site a couple weeks ago

'GaTaMaRa' system as a friend of mine referred to it

General Audience = G
Teenage Audience = pg and pg-13
Mature Audience = R
Restricted Audience = NC17

real simple and should get around them, especially if you put in a disclaimer that they have no input and have not sanctioned your site.

ReplyQuote
Posted : 21/03/2005 3:49 am
Anonymous
 Anonymous
(@Anonymous)

I will be switching mine over to this when I revamp my site.

http://tfrrs.tripod.com/

ReplyQuote
Posted : 22/03/2005 8:47 am
tss
 tss
(@tss)